2013 Winners of the Annual Haagen-Smit Clean Air Awards

This page last reviewed June 24, 2014

“These three individuals have made a lasting contribution to people’s health and well-being, both in California and abroad,” said ARB Chairman Mary D. Nichols. “They have demonstrated a sustained commitment to protecting public health throughout their long and distinguished careers and I am honored to personally present each of them with California’s premier award for outstanding achievements in air quality.”

Read the ARB Press Release /newsrel/newsrelease.php?id=599

2012 winner trophies

2013 Winners: Barbara Finlayson-Pitts, James Lents, Teruyuki Ohno

Barbara Finlayson-Pitts, Ph.D. - for her work in Air Pollution Research

Barbara Finlayson-Pitts award winnerDr. Barbara Finlayson-Pitts is a distinguished professor of chemistry at UC Irvine. She is being recognized for her outstanding research and teaching in the field of atmospheric chemistry. She is one of the most important contemporary atmospheric chemists and a leading world expert in atmospheric photochemistry. Her research has been inspired and driven by air pollution issues. She is best known to the scientific community for co-authoring two widely acclaimed and influential books on atmospheric chemistry.



James Lents, Ph.D. - for his work in Environmental Policy

James Lents award winnerDr. James Lents is being recognized for his leadership in environmental policy since the 1970s, from his contributions to the Clean Air Act for California and amendments to the Federal Clean Air Act in 1990 to his role as executive director for South Coast Air Quality Management District during the 1980s and 90s, where he led the agency to produce the first regional plan approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency that demonstrated the steps needed to attain air quality standards. His work in Chattanooga, Tenn., where his career began, inspired a U.S. EPA film and a Newsweek article highlighting what one city did to clean up its particulate pollution. Dr. Lents is president of the International Sustainable Systems Research Center, a small but highly effective policy shop he founded in 2003.


Teruyuki Ohno - for his work in International Policy

Teruyuki Ohno award winnerMr. Teruyuki Ohno of Tokyo, Japan, has been an innovative policy leader for the past 35 years. Programs successfully launched include: ĎOperation No Dirty Diesel,í Japanís first diesel retrofit program, and the Tokyo Cap-and-Trade Program, Japanís first carbon trading program. Mr. Ohno is executive director of the nonprofit Japan Renewable Energy Foundation, and serves as a lecturer at Tokyo University on sustainability topics.





Download the Program Guide for 2013

For more information on ARB's Clean Air Awards, contact Heather Choi at (916) 322-3893.