Release 07-27
July 30, 2007

    Genny Paauwe
(916) 322-2990

Air board honors three clean air heroes

SACRAMENTO -- The California Air Resources Board honored three environmental leaders today for their outstanding, cutting-edge work in the public policy arena to improve air quality throughout the state and beyond.

James E. Hansen, Ph.D., Alan C. Lloyd, Ph.D., and Ms. Fran Pavley received the prestigious Haagen-Smit Award, which is given each year to recognize significant career efforts in at least one of several air quality categories, including research, environmental policy, science and technology, public education, or community service.

"With the leadership of world-renowned individuals such as those honored today, California is steadily reducing smog, air toxics, and greenhouse gas emissions that harm the environment and sicken millions each year," said ARB Chairman Mary D. Nichols. "Their indefatigable spirit and commitment to air quality and climate change issues has a positive world-wide public health impact."

Hansen, the Director of NASA's Goddard Institute for Space Studies located in New York City, was honored for his work on atmospheric science. He is also Adjunct Professor in Earth and Environmental Sciences at Columbia University. Since the late 1970s, he has worked on studies and computer simulations of the Earth's climate, to better understand the human impact on global climate.

Lloyd, President of the International Council on Clean Transportation, was recognized for his leadership in clean air technologies. Before his current position, he led the California Environmental Protection Agency as its secretary from 2004 to 2006 and the ARB as its chairman for five years, promulgating programs that spurred development of new technologies and new approaches to emission controls and energy management.

Pavley, now with the Natural Resources Defense Council, was lauded for her contributions to environmental policy. Previously, she served three terms in the California State Assembly (2000-2006) and chaired the Air & Water Quality Committee and the Hydrogen & Other Alternative Fuels Committee.

Pavley sponsored landmark legislation on global warming that has become a model for other states and countries to follow. Notably, she authored AB 1493 to cut greenhouse gas emissions from motor vehicles by 30 percent, and co-authored California's Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 (AB 32), the nation's first mandated climate change action to cap emissions at 1990 levels.
California faces the nation's most serious air quality challenge. Despite unprecedented growth, California's air quality has dramatically improved over the last 50 years.

The California Air Resources Board has sponsored the Haagen-Smit Clean Air Award since 2001. For a list of past recipients, please see: /docs/hsawards/hswinners/hswinners.htm

The Air Resources Board is a department of the California Environmental Protection Agency. ARB's mission is to promote and protect public health, welfare, and ecological resources through effective reduction of air pollutants while recognizing and considering effects on the economy. The ARB oversees all air pollution control efforts in California to attain and maintain health based air quality standards.