TruckStop logo.

Public Agency or Utility Owned Vehicles

The following regulations may affect vehicles owned by a Public Agency or Utility:

  • Review the regulations in the table below to see if they apply to you.

  • If you need assistance, see our diesel assistance page.

Regulation Basic Regulatory Requirements
Public Agency and Utility Regulation Requires control of particulate emissions from diesel vehicles greater than 14,000 GVWR.

Owner must apply compliance status label to vehicle and maintain specific vehicle information.

Private Utilities are subject to the Truck and Bus Regulation starting 2021.

More Information
Idling Reduction Program Applies to commercial motor vehicles (trucks and buses) over 10,000 lbs. gross vehicle weight rating, including sleeper berth trucks during periods of sleep and rest.

Limits idling to five (5) minutes within California borders.

Shorter idling limits apply to the operation of every school bus, transit bus, school pupil activity bus, youth bus, general public paratransit vehicle, and other commercial motor vehicles when within a school zone.

More Information
Periodic Smoke Inspection Program (PSIP) Applies to all California based fleets with two or more vehicles.

Must perform annual smoke and tamper inspections of their fleet vehicles and repair those with excessive smoke emissions.

Smoke inspection and maintenance records must be kept for two years.

More Information
Greenhouse Gas Emission Reduction Measure Tractors and trailers 53 feet or longer must meet aerodynamic and tire rolling resistance requirements established by U.S. EPA SmartWay Program.

Compliance deadlines begin on January 1, 2010

More Information
Emission Control Label Inspection Program Applies to all heavy-duty diesel commercial vehicles operating in California.

Requires engine label, called an Emission Control Label, showing that the engine meets the required federal emission standards applicable for the model year of the engine.

More Information

Vehicles and engines found out of compliance with applicable regulations may be subject to civil penalties. Penalties accessed may be up to $10,000 per day.

Vehicles that are not considered part of a public fleet may be subject to other regulations, go back to the Diesel Vehicles Page to determine if you are subject to other diesel vehicle regulations.

Are financial opportunities available to upgrade my equipment?

Financial opportunities for Public Agencies and Utilities are limited, but they may be available. Contact your local air district staff or ARB from our diesel assistance page.

ARB Home | TruckStop Home | Off-Road Zone
Diesel Hotline: 1-866-6DIESEL (1-866-634-3735)
     2015 TruckStop | Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy