Renewable Electricity Standard

This page last reviewed August 25, 2014


Renewable Electricity Standard and Renewables Portfolio Standard

In order to achieve greater environmental benefits, including lowering greenhouse gas emissions in the electricity sector, ARB was directed through Governor’s Executive Order S-21-09 to adopt a regulation by July 31, 2010, requiring the State’s load serving entities to meet 33 percent of their load with renewable energy by 2020, thereby raising the target under California’s existing Renewables Portfolio Standard (RPS) program. solar thermal array

In response to the Executive Order, ARB staff, working closely with the California Public Utilities Commission, California Energy Commission and the California Independent System Operator, developed the Renewable Electricity Standard (RES) regulation.  The Board adopted the RES regulation on September 23, 2010.  However, this regulation did not go into effect because of subsequent legislation (SB X1-2, Simitian, statutes of 2011) signed by Governor Brown in April 2011, which codified the 33 percent renewables requirement by 2020.  SB X1-2 applies to all electricity retailers in the state including publicly owned utilities, investor-owned utilities, electricity service providers, and community choice aggregators.  All of these entities must meet renewable energy goals of 20 percent of retail sales from renewables by the end of 2013, 25 percent by the end of 2016, and 33 percent by the end of 2020.

For current information on the State’s RPS program, see:

California Energy Commission – RPS

California Public Utilities Commission – RPS

Renewable Electricity Standard Archive

Past information can be found in the RES Archive