Area Designations Maps / State and National

This page last reviewed October 24, 2019

This web site provides area designation maps of California for all criteria pollutants that are designated for the State and national standards. These maps are updated annually for the State area designations, as required by the Health and Safety Code (H&SC) section 39608. The Board makes State area designations for ten criteria pollutants: ozone, suspended particulate matter (PM10), fine suspended particulate matter (PM2.5), carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, sulfur dioxide, sulfates, lead, hydrogen sulfide, and visibility reducing particles.

In contrast to the State area designations, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) makes national area designations for six criteria pollutants: ozone (2015 8-hour standard; 2008 8-hour standard; the 1-hour standard was revoked effective June 15, 2005), PM10, PM2.5, carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, and sulfur dioxide. Although maps for the national area designations are provided below, please refer to the U.S. EPA website for the most current information on the national area designations.

State Area Designations

The following maps are the most current available and represent air quality based on the most recent monitoring data.

National Area Designations

The following maps are current as of December 2018. Please refer to the U.S. EPA website for the most current information on area designations for ozone and other pollutants

Other Related Information